Book Week 101 mins

  • Book Week
  • Book Week
  • Book Week

David Stratton Recommends

Filmed in the Blue Mountains, BOOK WEEK is a shaggy dark comedy about a disgraced novelist turned English teacher trying to find redemption.

For generations, dressing up for Book Week has been an Aussie school tradition. But for high-school English teacher Nicholas Cutler (Alan Dukes), it’s the week from hell. Once a literary enfant terrible, and now simply a terrible man, he’s now struggling to instil a love of reading in teenagers who’d rather toy with their phones and dress up as movie superheroes. Trying to roll with these bad new times, Nicholas has penned a trashy zombie story. He’s tantalisingly close to a literary comeback – but it’ll be at the expense of his students, colleagues and long-suffering family. Will this be the week Mr Cutler finally has people’s backs, not paperbacks?

Writer/director Heath Davis based this film on his own experiences as a teacher. Shot in Katoomba and featuring Western Sydney locals as extras, BOOK WEEK offers a wry new comedy with a genial fondness for community – the kind you don’t always find in books.

BOOK WEEK was the sold-out comedy hit of the recent Melbourne International Film Festival.

Now showing at

Luna Leederville - session times

Click on a session time to buy tickets ...

Monday, 10 December
12:40PM 9:00PM 
Tuesday, 11 December
12:40PM 9:00PM 
Wednesday, 12 December
12:40PM 9:00PM 
Thursday, 13 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Friday, 14 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Saturday, 15 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Sunday, 16 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Monday, 17 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Tuesday, 18 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 
Wednesday, 19 December
12:40PM 8:50PM 

Luna also recommends...

Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Can You Ever Forgive Me?

more

Fahrenheit 11/9

Fahrenheit 11/9

more

Loro

Loro

Seduction, glamour, corruption, drugs and raucous poolside parties: the life and times of scandal-plagued Silvio Berlusconi have long-demanded a ... more